Comments from Guests at Umlani Bushcamp

Visit TripAdvisor to read our latest reviews.

tripadvisor

Mark Werley
The way the bush should be experienced

From superbly prepared food with local flavors to impeccable service with personal touches and, of course, plenty of game sightings. We were thoroughly impressed with our visit. We took our two boys, ages 13 and 15, and they loved the place. We love our 5 Star hotels in the big city but Umlani is the perfect way to experience the bush.
United States of America - April 2011
Marion, Henk and Kees de Vries
Hello all at Umlani Bushcamp,

We once again like to thank you for the great time we had at youre accommodation. Starting with the friendly welcome (thanks John) the very nice decorated beds, the wonderful buffet meals, the great game drives, and all the staff being very friendly and helpful.

You really make this a great place to stay, and we hope you will keep this ambience for the future. Although it has just been a week ago, we already want to return to South-Africa, and when we do we definitely will return to Umlani Bushcamp.
The Netherlands - Feb 2011
Brett and Linda
Dear all at Umlani,

I would like to thank you for all your efforts in making our stay with you so wonderful. We had a perfectly relaxing stay, the staff were all very friendly, and the food was wonderful.

Our wedding day was absolutely ideal, I would not change a thing about it, it was exactly how we imagined it would be, and then some more! Everyone made it so very special. The photographs and DVD were just right – nicely informal, perfect for us, I am not sure how you arranged the leopard to enter from stage right to the watering hole as we signed the register, but that was just wonderful. I would particularly like to thank Will and Alison, as they managed to keep both Brett and myself calm and sane throughout.

We will definitely be returning, we have the best excuse now to celebrate wedding anniversaries with you year after year.

We will without hesitation, recommend Umlani to any of our friends or relatives who may want to visit South Africa for a Safari, it was the most idyllic place for our wedding.

Thank you again, for a truly magical time.

Mr. and Mrs. Hollywood

(Brett and Linda)
Hollywood - Nov 2010
Bill Key
Nicky,

Good morning. I wanted to drop you a note complimenting you for your great selection of places to stay, particularly, Umlani, man was it great. The cooking at that camp was better than most American restaurants, we even ate Pup and Sheeba, oh I loved it. They even cooked steak from an a dead elephant they came across in the game reserve, it was good.

Get ready we are coming to come again when I retire, next year, so I will be contacting you.

Thanks for everything,

Regards,
Bill

P.S. Just made that up about the elephant
USA - Nov 2010
Alexander Antenen and Renata Braegger
Hello Umlani Bushcamp

Hello Louise and Kyle

We had the pleasure to stay at the Umlani Bushcamp from 17. to the 19. of October.

For us ist was the first time in South Africa and the first time in a Lodge, so at first we couldnt realy compare.

But anyhow, we found it absolutely great: Your friendliness (the whole staff included), your service, the camp, the food, just everything we thougt, is very, very nice.

After two days we left with a bit regret but in expectation of further great experience at the next (two) lodges.

So now we are able to compare and only now we realise what we had at the Umlani!

Yes, the other lodges also were nice, but:

- they had air condition, but by far not the atmosphere of Umlani with the petrol lamps and the whole bushcamp-atmosphere

- they had good food, but not the delicious and at the same time simple food of Umlani

- they had good service, but not the warmth of the Umlani with its engaged people

- they had game drives, but not a ranger like Ginger and a tracker like Hendrik with their competence and feeling for the animals

Yes they were also lodges, but definitely not the Umlani Bushcamp!

With the hope to have the possibility of visiting Umlani once for more then just two days we send you our thanks and wish you and all your great staff a great time and success.
Switzerland - Oct 2010
Rachel Moore
Hi Marco,

I met you about 4 weeks ago while i was staying at Umlani with my family. We all wanted to email you and say a big thank you to you and all the staff working at Umlani. We honestly had the greatest trip. Everywhere we went, we all agreed it was not even close to how good our stay was at Umlani!
Sep 2010
Kevin ONeill
Louise and Kyle

We’re back in the states (as of yesterday) and just wanted to send you a note of thanks for our recent experience at Umlani. Lynn, Tess and I all loved it there, and it was an experience that we won’t forget. You and all the staff there were incredibly gracious hosts and it was great to meet you and the other guests there. Thanks again and look us up if you’re ever in Seattle!
USA - July 2010
Personal Africa
Dear Simone,

Just a short note to say many thanks for your assistance with our trip to South Africa – Umlani was magical and the accommodation on the garden route first class. We got to see all the big five in our stay at Umlani plus a whole load more, the food was great and the staff in the lodge wonderful. I thought the kids would struggle with the lack of electricity but they also had a great time and I am sure want to go again.
Africa - July 2010
Rhonda & Tony
Hello to all the staff at Umlani

Myself and my partner Tony spent a few days with you in early June (we came with Memory as part of a Peregrine tour) and I wanted to say thank you for the wonderful time we had. Thanks in particular to Ginger and Hendricks for showing us so many beautiful animals and giving us information about them and the country. Thank you to Christie and to Thembi for making us feel at home and so well looked after. Thank you to all who shared dinner, drinks and stories around the fire in the evening. Staying at Umlani was the highlight of our holiday and even the world cup soccer games suffered from comparison. I am also looking forward to seeing the documentary about the white lions in thenear future.

Many thanks again, I will be telling everyone considering a visit to South Africa that Umlani is a place not to be missed.
Australia - June 2010
Johan Du Toit
Dear Tarryn and Marco

Thank you so much for the wonderful experience of staying one night at Umlani.

As soon as I arrived I fell in love with the place, everything was just excellent!

The accommodation was very comfortable and loved the fact that there is no electricity or cell phone reception.  It is definitely of all the lodges that Ive been to the place where I felt the closest to nature.

All the staff was extremely friendly, the food excellent and the game drive with Moses was also great and interesting.

Umlani is my idea of paradise!

I can assure you that I would gladly recommend Umlani.
South Africa - May 2010
Michael & Sheila Fisher
To all our friends at Umlani

We are safely back home in ausie after a wonderful trip. Thank you everybody for an amazing stay at your beautiful camp - all your efforts and the trouble you took were very much appreciated - the friendship, the food, the drives, the rondawel, were perfect and we really enjoyed the experience. You have the best KOSHER restaurant in the Province! Mike has not stopped telling everybody of the Big 5 and all the other animals and we have some good photos. How was the wedding - must have been lovely! Christie, did you manage to meet Maruska in Durban? We hope that you had a good time there! I will contact her and suggest she put Umlani on her books. Did you hear from Jenny and Fred? I do hope that she recovered quickly. Hope the leopard and cubs are doing well. Should any of you come to Ausie - please contact us!

Thanks again, take care everybody, we miss you.
Australia - May 2010
Gavin Lundie
Hi Marie and Marco,

I just need to let you know that Umlani has never been better! I took my wife and guests down on Friday and we had a fantastic weekend. Louise and Kyle were great hosts and the camp staff were extremely friendly. I must compliment the staff on beautifully set dining tables. It seems that I have become an old friend there and had a hearty and warm welcome. I have to admit to being a little nervous before arriving as I did not know who was running the camp, and would it be like it was? Well I truly can say that all is better than ever!

Every one in our group were most impressed, and we will be back!

Thanks very much.
Africa - May 2010
CONTACT INFORMATION
QUICK LINKS
SOCIAL CONNECT

Connect with Umlani Bushcamp via:

Youtube Channel Twitter page Facebook page Mobile site

SIGN UP TO OUR NEWSLETTER HERE

UMLANI ACHIEVEMENTS
Fair Trade in Tourism Member Member of Southern Africa Tourism Services Association Green Leaf Environmental Standard 3 Star by SA Tourism Grading Council

OUR LATEST TWEETS
QUICK ENQUIRY

Fields marked with * are required

Name:  *
Email:  *
Telephone:  *
Enquiry:
Security
7b928
 *
 

+ WEATHER AT UMLANI BUSHCAMP

+ LATEST TWEETS FROM UMLANI BUSHCAMP

+ STAY CONNECTED

Stay intouch with Umlani Bushcamp in a number of ways. So what are you waiting for, look, follow, like and enjoy, and if you were one of our many satisfied guests then write a review and let others know the good news.





+ JOIN OUR NEWSLETTER

+ UMLANI GUEST REVIEWS